Dice of Tenors

Dice of Tenors
April 17, 2020
César Cardoso
Antena 2

For this album César Cardoso choose 8 songs, 6 of which are Jazz Standards made famous by some of the greatest tenor saxophonists – Hank Mobley, Benny Golson, John Coltrane, Dexter Gordon, Sonny Rollins and Joe Henderson -, and composed 2 original songs to complete the album. These arrangements contain new approaches and techniques, recently studied, with the intention of creating songs as if they were new ones but at the same time without losing the essence of the originals. In addition, one of the premises was to raise the musical level through harmonic, rhythmic and metric complexity, without losing the musical side, making everything as organic as possible.


César Cardoso (tenor saxophone, arrangements); Jason Palmer (trumpet); Miguel Zenón (alto saxophone); Massimo Morganti (trombone); Jeffery Davis (vibraphone); Óscar Marcelino da Graça (piano); Demian Cabaud (bass); Marcos Cavaleiro (drums)

César Cardoso, todos os direitos reservados